•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

NINA vs. APT: meridan flips & unguided dithering

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Frédéric Auchère

Frédéric Auchère

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 January 2020 - 03:45 PM

Hi all,

I'm pretty much of a newbie here, so I hope I'm posting where I should ...

I'm an APT user who recently learned about NINA. Reading the docs, it may have all the features I'm looking for but I'm not sure. So here it is:

1. I'm bothered  by the APT automated meridian flips. I have a very small setup (Samyang 135 + EOS6D) on my AZ-EQ6 and nothing can hit the tripod, so I don't need flips (and they disturb me as I need to reframe slightly after each flip). Can they be disabled in APT (can't find the option...)? Can they be disabled in NINA?

2. I'm not guding but I usually dither every frame using the APT dithering option. It seems NINA has the equivalent with "built-in dithering using NINA's direct guider function". Does anybody use this functionality?

Clear skies,

Frédéric

#2 apexiturbodsm

apexiturbodsm

Explorer 1

Posted 29 January 2020 - 09:32 PM

In NINA, go to options -> imaging, and you can turn auto meridian flips off (default is off).

As for question 2, you are using phd right? Because NINA integrates with phd. It connects to its server and can send dither commands like any other imaging software. In options -> equipment in the bottom right, you can set your dither settings. All you have to do is "connect" nina to phd via the equipment page. You set when (how many subs) you want to dither via the sequencing tab.

Edited by apexiturbodsm, 29 January 2020 - 09:33 PM.

#3 sbradley07

sbradley07

Viking 1

• Moderators
  • Loc: Connecticut

Posted 29 January 2020 - 11:10 PM