•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Optical and mechanical diagram/s of 45° and 90° binoculars. How is optical cone bent and ipd adjusted?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Amiran

Amiran

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 June 2020 - 05:51 AM

Hi everyone,

I had been googling for some time now yet not have found the tech/drawings/diagrams to clearly illustrate optical cone bending and ipd adjustment systems and if possible pros and cons of systems.

I will much appreciate any sketch or links provided.

Sincere apologies if the question is not composed clearly, I am an absolute beginner in astronomy & binoculars.

Thanks!

#2 ArsMachina

ArsMachina

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Germany

Posted 04 June 2020 - 06:10 AM

Hi Amiran,

this is a wide theme, I will give it a start and hope others will chime in :-)

First there are 90° mirror solutions:

The EMS System of Tatsuro Matsumoto is using just two mirrors (reflections) and providing an upright and side right view.

But the IPD adjustment is somewhat tricky.

Then there are three mirror (reflection) solutions the most known is the one of Binoptik. IPD adjustment is easy, the view upright but side reversed

There are 45° and 90° prism solutions. All are providing upright and side right views.

The 45° solution using a roof prism has 5 reflections

The 90° solution uses a penta and a porro prism and has 6 reflections.

For mirror solutions you can use all available refractor objectives.

With prism solutions it is way more complicated, you have to take care of the glass path through the prisms, all optical parts do need to be calculated together.

For this reason you can not take the objective lensed out of a prism binoscope and use them with mirrors.

Here you can find more informations:

http://www.photonics...book/v2ch04.pdf

Jochen

• Amiran likes this