•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best camera & s/w for Solar Imaging [DayStar Quark + SW Evostar 80ED]

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sreekar

Sreekar

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 08 May 2024 - 01:34 AM

I am new to solar imaging, but fell into it having seen the totality on April 8th. I have been into DSO imaging for a while and own several cameras and telescopes. Recently found a DayStar Quark on Astromart for a good price. So now I am left scratching my head on how to get started with solar imaging, and trying to put a setup together. 

Here is my final imaging train:

Sky watcher Evostar 80ED > Optolong UV/IR filter > 80 mm 2 inch Extender tube > DayStar Quark > ZWO 1.25" T mount > [ASI Camera]

I am trying to figure out what camera I should use with this setup. I own three cameras now (a) ASI 224MC; (b) ASI 533 MC; © ASI 1600 MM. I am leaning towards the ASI 224 MC, but I realize the pixel math to f-ratio doesnt work out well. 

My cameras: Pixel size in micro meter * 5 => 3.75 * 5 = 18.75 

My setup: Telescope (f7) * 4.2x barlow inside the Quark => 7 * 4.2 = 29.4

Here are my questions:

(a) Should i buy a new camera? If so, which one?

(b) I have seen Youtube videos where folks have used a 533 sensor and collected low frame rate videos and produced beautiful images of the sun. So should I use my ASI 533MC in place of ASI 224MC?

© What is the net impact of having a larger f ratio on my telescope? Will this make my image blurry? 

(d) Would I be gaining any benefit from getting a different camera, taking into account seeing and other factors?

Thanks in advance!

Sreekar

#2 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Voyager 1

• Loc: Florida

Posted 08 May 2024 - 01:44 AM

Hi,

Critical sampling of 656nm on your camera's pixel sizes are:

IMX224 (3.76um) critically samples 656nm at F14