•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Vixen LVW 5mm

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 Hummel

Hummel

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 August 2007 - 06:20 PM

Hallo all,
I should first say that I am quite new to all this. I recently purchased a reflector, 135mm, f 720mm, f/5,3 and I am considering the LVW 5mm as my high-power eyepiece. I have the LVW 8mm and like it a lot. I also have a 6mm Vixen Plössl and it disappoints. Very dark and almost no eye relief, I find it difficult to use. Would something like the LVW 5mm be a worthwhile improvement? Thank you for your "views".
- Michael

#2 jtpowers

jtpowers

more clever in the first place

Posted 22 August 2007 - 06:34 PM

I have several LVW's myself. And if you like the 8, you're going to like the 5. I say do it. Without reservation.

Cheers

#3 Covey32

Covey32

Apollo

Posted 22 August 2007 - 06:39 PM

The exit pupil and magnification is what determines "dark", not necessarily the quality or brand of the eyepiece.
Your 6mm plossl is giving you a bit over 1mm of exit pupil and from what you say that is disappointing, so a 5mm eyepiece is going to be even darker. The 8mm is giving you about 90x magnification, so it sounds like maybe you should try an inexpensive 7mm to see if you like the brightness level. A 5mm will be dimmer than the 6mm you don't like.

#4 Hummel

Hummel

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 August 2007 - 06:48 PM

Well, these answers are somewhat contradictory. Good point about exit pupil, Hank. And something to consider. As I mentioned I have not a lot of experience and appreciate such reminders. Thank you.
And now, since it is very late here I will go to bed and check back tomorrow.
- Michael

#5 Talstarone

Talstarone

Lunar Man

Posted 22 August 2007 - 07:00 PM