•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Takahashi sky 90 Vs. Tak fs60

beginner refractor tripod equipment
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic

#1 ei001h

ei001h

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 February 2017 - 06:03 PM

Hello, I'm new to Cloudy Nights, seems like a solid source of information. Was hoping to get some help with my first telescope.

I'm interested in visual astronomy and decided to get a quality refractor. Astrophotography would be a plus, but not essential at this point. I own 7x35 binoculars and have been limited by power. I'm interested in astronomy, but would not even call myself an amateur yet. So far I've found jupiter, venus, m31 and pleiades with my binoculars without using any charts. Was hoping to see more with a more powerful instrument. There are no astronomy clubs near me. I would like a high end refractor, my budget is 2-5k. My preferences are:

1. Refractor. Objective lens 60 to 90mm. Would like something super portable.  I'm intrigued by Takahashi sky 90 ii and cb60.

2. Must be portable and easy to set up. Something that could be used on a small mount and be stored on the mount in my living room and easily transported in my SUV.

3. I would like to use it for both astronomy and as a spotting scope during the day. About 50/50.  Ease of use is essential.

4. Have not decided which mount to get, something simple at first, and eventually get an equatorial goto mount. Will appreciate advice on mounts after I get the telescope.

5. Also looking at Leica televid 77 and 82 with zoom eyepieces. How are these as astronomy tools ? Is there a big difference in the old 77mm vs 82?