•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

photometry questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
42 replies to this topic

#1 ASTERON

ASTERON

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 13 January 2011 - 07:59 AM

Is it possible to do Science quality photometry from a medium light polluted area ?
Is there any narowband filter which may be used for cutting off the sodium lamp spectrum which is the main light poluter in my back yard so that photometery can be done, or would any type of filtering be self defeating because I do not integrate the entire spectrum coming from a star ?

I apologize if the question is dumb but I'm new to this and need to make some decisions.

#2 Mirzam

Mirzam

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 13 January 2011 - 09:18 AM

In general, you typically will be making short (~1 min or less) exposures and will be measuring differences between target and reference stars. The sky background light level is subtracted from the target and reference stars as part of the calibration process.

The answer to the filter question depends on the type of photometry you are performing. I'm not an expert so perhaps some others here will comment.

JimC

#3 rutherfordt

rutherfordt

Viking 1

Posted 13 January 2011 - 10:31 AM

Asteron:

It is definitely possible to do photometry from a light polluted area since you normally do use filters that exclude most light pollution (the exact filters will depend on what you are actually doing).

With a CCD camera (mono) most people use a "V" filter (the "V" stands for "visual so it is a sort of yellow-green). There are also "R" (red) and "B" (blue) filters as well as others. These are not the same as the RGB filters that are used to take "pretty pictures."