•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

HD Ortho EPs versus wide fields

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
37 replies to this topic

#1 coutleef

coutleef

Aurora

• topic starter

Posted 05 April 2011 - 08:44 AM

I wonder if some have the same experience i had.

Looking at double and triple stars in cancer a couple of nights ago, i studied a triple star more carefully.

Seeing and transparancy were average, the 8SE was cooled down for three hours and i was not using my focal reducer. Observation from the city. Collimation was spot on.

The triple star was supposed to be white, yellow and blue. Do not remember the number of the star.

In the 15mm plossl and 13T6, two stars were white and one was almost yellow (yellow-white). Same with the 11 plossl from TV.

Then i used a new 12,5mm HD ortho from UO. Wow, stars were pinpoint in opposite to the plossl and nagler, and they were of the exact color. White, yellow and blue. I almost had a 'refractor-like' view of the triple due to pinpoint images of stars. I switched back and forth, and obtained the same results. Using a 7mm EP was out of the question because of seeing that night. The 9T6 did not give me the colors i obtained with the ortho and i did not have a 9mm ortho for comparisons (but i have bought one yesterday!!).

I never thought that the ortho would give a better view of star colors than the TV plossl, and nagler T6s I used my Pan 24 and again, althoug the view was very pleasant, the colors were all white (that may be because of lower magnification).

If the orthos give a better image in terms of star colors, they are a keeper, they are essential for double star observation.