•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Buying used - What to look-out for?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 rickshaw

rickshaw

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 July 2014 - 05:09 PM

Hi, Rick in San Diego here. I'm a newbie to this hobby, and I often see reflectors for sale on Craigslist at what seem to be reasonable prices.

Without expensive equipment, how can I evaluate (or can I even tell?) if a used scope is performing well?

I understand that I need to look through known good eyepieces at known stars, and compare to my own experiences, and also to buy from a known entity like an Astronomy club member. But I'm asking here about stuff like how to differentiate bad collimation from a disfigured or dirty primary mirror. I guess this could also apply to new telescopes that seem to perform sub-par to what's expected.

Here's a list of potential issues with used reflectors. Maybe y'all can help me understand how each one affects what I'd see? I'll start with my understanding on the first one: bad collimation. Please add and/or fill-in the rest as possible.

Not Collimated:
You'll get a coma on stars. Star-test rings not concentric. images don't focus correctly.

Dirty primary mirror:

Badly figured primary mirror:
(Maybe a breakdown of common issues: When you'll get coma, What do astigmatism, dips/peaks, etc. do to the image.)

Scratches on primary mirror:

Bad coating or badly aluminized:

Edge issues on primary mirror:

Bad or not good reflectivity:

Thin vs. thick primary mirror:

And lastly, in this internet age, should I just forget about buying used equipment, and save to buy new with a warranty, and be done?

Thanks for the advice!

- Rick

#2 GeneT

GeneT

Ely Kid

Posted 21 July 2014 - 05:29 PM